No items found.

Source: Smithsonian
Published: March 2017

Texas has had the Power to Split into 5 States for 150 Years

Circulated: February 19, 2019

Article IV, Section 3
, of the U.S. Constitution states that Congress must approve any new states. But Texas’ claim to an exception comes straight from the 1845 joint congressional resolution admitting Texas into the Union. A quirk of a 19th-century Congressional resolution could allow Texas to split up into 5 states.

Find Similar Facts

Most Shared Facts

View All Facts