September 3: The Five Love Languages

What are your primary and secondary love languages?

Source: Dr. Gary Chapman
Published: June 1995

The Five Love Languages

In his 1992 book, Dr. Gary Chapman outlines five ways that romantic partners express and experience love. According to Chapman’s theory, each person has one primary and one secondary love language.

Words of affirmation: Compliments, appreciation, and encouragement mean the world to you, and hearing the words “I love you” are essential.

Quality time: Giving your undivided attention. You prioritize active listening, eye contact, and focused conversations.

Receiving gifts: Gifts convey thoughtfulness and effort. It’s not about the monetary value but the symbolic thinking behind the item.

Acts of service: Going out of your way to make your partner’s life easier. You ease their burden of responsibilities, such as bringing soup when sick or fixing the wifi when the internet is down.

Physical touch: Physical presence is crucial. Nonverbal acts such as hugs and holding hands express concern, care, and excitement.


Did you appreciate the fact today?

Yes   |  No